silk chess

Life’s chess board

Life moves my pawn to the dungeons

I rally,

Cut swaths in the ranks with my knight

 

Life subpoenas my queen

Makes her cry

My bishop overthrows the decree

 

Life stalemates my king

I save him,

loose a rook

 

Life plays

I retaliate

Over and over and over and…

 

Neither getting tired

The years roll by

Bringing a new game each day

 

Silk bath

She slept and dreamed

Of snakes and silk

Intertwined

 

She turned and tossed

In cool sheets

Soft and smooth

 

She stretched her hands

Felt for her face

Woke up startled

 

For she slept a girl

But woke up-

Medusa’s child

Leave a Reply

