i am interested in you…and i am not a rose

I am interested
I am interested
I find you interesting
You interest me

I am interested
In you
Your silence interests me
Shy bouts of chatter in three languages

I find you interesting
Your mind interests me
Clear glass honed into deadly precision

You interest me
Your hobbies interest me
Your eyes, chocolate behind lilac shades
Interest me

Your mouth interests me
Sensual bow with a manly curve
Your hands are interesting
Delicate artist cum surgeon hands

Oh, boy!
I am interested
I find you interesting
You interest me

I am not a rose
I am not a rose
That you should gaze at me with such delight;
Smell my fragrance and pronounce it heavenly,
Pay good money to have me

I am not a rose
That you should fear crushing me
Treat me like an egg
Gather me to give your love

I am not a rose
That you should watch over me to prevent aphids
Boast about me to your friends over dinner
Spend your free time with me

I am not a rose
That you should watch my thorns lest they hurt you
Grow sad at season’s end
Stroke my petals with such tenderness

What I am,
My darling,
I cannot say

A long time ago,
Perhaps I was a rose
Soft and feathery
Nice and soothing
Today,
My heart
I am not a rose

I am not a rose
That you should care for me lest I die
Protect me lest I wilt
Stay with me lest I fade away

Leave a Reply

